Book Tags

Can’t Wait Wednesday: WATCH HER

Buy on Amazon

I’ve just started reading my advanced reader’s copy of Watch Her from BookishFirst, and it’s so good! Here’s the synopsis:

In this intelligently dark suspense novel by two-time Agatha Award nominated author Edwin Hill, Harvard librarian Hester Thursby and her fellow guest, Detective Angela White, are called to the home of Prescott University’s owners Tucker and Jennifer Matson while attending a gala at the college’s lavish new campus. Jennifer claims that someone broke into Pinebank, their secluded mansion on the banks of Jamaica Pond. The more Hester and Angela investigate, the less they believe Jennifer’s story, leaving Hester to wonder why she would lie.

When Hester is asked by the college’s general manager to locate some missing alumni, she employs her research skills on the family and their for-profit university. Between financial transgressions, a long-ago tragedy, and rumors of infidelity, it’s clear that the Matsons aren’t immune to scandal or mishap. But when one of the missing students turns up dead, the mystery takes on new urgency.

Hester is edging closer to the truth, but as a decades-old secret collides with new lies, a killer grows more determined to keep the past buried with the dead. . . 

“Complex characterization and a masterly mystery make this a superior read.” —Kirkus

“Hits that elusive sweet spot yet again with an impeccable blend of intelligent and relatable characters confronted with a dangerous and complex crime in a fascinating setting. Hill masterfully ratchets up the tension until it’s impossible to look away. Hester Thursby fans will not be disappointed!” —Karen Dionne, award-winning bestselling author of The Wicked Sister

“Thursby is a tough, cerebral, relatably flawed sleuth who lulls herself to sleep with horror films and takes on serial killers and unexpected motherhood without skipping a beat. A dark but compassionate psychological-thriller debut with great appeal for fans of Ruth Ware and Cornelia Read.” —Booklist STARRED REVIEW for Little Comfort

“An increasingly tense plot and striking characters–in particular, compassionate, conflicted, loving Hester–make this a standout.” —Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW for Little Comfort

“This whodunit has broken family dynamics and a wonderfully complex and intricate mystery.” —Library Journal STARRED REVIEW for The Missing Ones

1 thought on “Can’t Wait Wednesday: WATCH HER”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s