Book Tags

WWW Wednesday: November 25, 2020

Welcome back to WWW Wednesday! This meme was formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm and revived by Sam on Taking on a World of Words. If you want to participate, please check them out. I’d love to read your www post! 

No blog? No worries, just answer the questions in the comments. We bees love hearing about new books, and we’d love to hear from you!

The Three Ws are:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I just started this read about 5 minutes ago, so I’ll use Amazon’s review here:

In Firekeeper’s Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. 

As a biracial, unenrolled tribal member and the product of a scandal, eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. Daunis dreams of studying medicine, but when her family is struck by tragedy, she puts her future on hold to care for her fragile mother. 

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, certain details don’t add up and she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into the heart of a criminal investigation. 

Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, but secretly pursues her own investigation, tracking down the criminals with her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine. But the deceptions―and deaths―keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home. 

Now, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

Amazon.com

I’m trying to get this read before the end of November in recognition of Indigenous People’s Month here in the US. I’ve already read Winter Counts, and it was honestly one of my favorite reads of the year.

What did you recently finish reading?

Since reading The Iron Raven, I’ve been craving some good Y.A. fantasy reads, and I honestly needed a break from reading e-ARCs. This was exactly what I was needing, and I’ll be posting my review soon.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I have three books that I absolutely have to read before the end of December. Two of them are ARCs, so I have to read them before they are published. The third is The Bridge of Little Jeremy, one that I’ve been wanting to read for a while. I’m pretty excited to read them, but I’m also nervous that I’ve bitten off more than I can chew.

What do you think of my list? Are there any books you’d like to share?

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: November 25, 2020”

Leave a Reply to coupleofbees Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s